general query about Flex software

Forum related to the FLEX boards

Moderator: paolo.gai

jizecn

general query about Flex software

Post by jizecn » Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:12 pm

Hi, I am new to dsPIC and also dsp.
I am wondering if I have to use the Erika Enterprise and RT-Druid to program the dsPIC?

As I have one c compiler already, I would prefer continuing using that compiler. However, I want to know if it is possible to burn the program (hex) file to the chip via USB or any port. At present, I do not need any OS for my work.
Because usually I use a separate programmer to burn programs to PIC chips, however, the programmer does not support dsPIC. If I buy a FLEX board, without using EE, do I still need anything to burn program to it?

Thanks. :blink:

paolo.gai
Administrator

Re:general query about Flex software

Post by paolo.gai » Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:20 pm

Dear jizecn,

You do not need to use ERIKA and RT-Druid to program the dsPIC. Microchip offers a lot of tools, notably the MPLAB IDE and the ICD2 debugger to program the board.

Programming using USB is not available yet, but it will be probably available soon (but I cannot disclose the date yet). You can use the Microchip ICD2 to program the board.

ERIKA and RT-Druid can be useful whenever you want to have some pre-built examples that covers most of the devices of the board... that usually speeds up development a lot!

bye,

Paolo

jizecn

Post by jizecn » Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:17 pm

Thanks Paolo,

paolo.gai wrote:

You do not need to use ERIKA and RT-Druid to program the dsPIC. Microchip offers a lot of tools, notably the MPLAB IDE and the ICD2 debugger to program the board.

Programming using USB is not available yet, but it will be probably available soon (but I cannot disclose the date yet). You can use the Microchip ICD2 to program the board.
So does this mean that I will need to buy an ICD2 debugger or some else compatible?