Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

A forum useful to discuss the details of the ScicosLab code generator.

Moderator: paolo.gai

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:28 am

I have followed all the steps mentioned in the document 'flex_scicos_0_50.pdf' to install the scicos flex code generator. But I get the error - 'link failed for dll....' etc as can be seen in the attachment.

Also I cannot find the

- C:/Evidence/Bin folder or
- the start menu folder or
- an entry in the uninstall programs in control panel

after installing Erika Enterprise from the CD. I have installed the Java Run time environment, MPLab Ide and C30 compiler as mentioned in 'tutorial_pic30_1_1_11.pdf' in the locations mentioned in the file.

Please help

PS. The laptop i used has Windows XP
Attachments
Error
Error
error1.jpg (123.92 KiB) Viewed 5137 times

nicola.serreli
Jr. Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:11 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by nicola.serreli » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:58 am

Hi

from the screenshot I see scicos 4.1.2
Which version of EE and scicos pack are you using?

I suggest to use scicos 4.4.1 and scicosLab pack 10.0 that contains also EE 1.6 with the RT-Druid code generator.
You can find them at http://erika.tuxfamily.org/scilabscicos.html.
The installation procedure is described at http://erika.tuxfamily.org/wiki/index.p ... _procedure

Nicola

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:33 pm

Thanks Nicola

I am using EE 1.5.1 and Scicos pack 9, both from the CD accompanying the setup.

I will install the versions you suggested and post the results asap.

Regards

Vivek

paolo.gai
Administrator
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by paolo.gai » Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:41 pm

Yes, please use the latest version on the website! There has been a few releases since the one you are using...

Ciao,

PJ

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:39 am

Hi,

I followed all the instructions from the wiki page suggested by Nicola. When i try to install the Scicos pack 10 by executing installer.sce i get an error that the paths c:\Programmi\Microchip\MPLAB C30 and c:\Programmi\Microchip\MPLAB ASM30 Suite are not valid, but these folders exist. What might the problem be?

Please help

PS. I have attached the screenshot

Regards

Vivek
Attachments
error2.jpg
error2.jpg (152.69 KiB) Viewed 5123 times

nicola.serreli
Jr. Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:11 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by nicola.serreli » Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:27 pm

Dear Vivek,

Are you sure that these folders exist?
Please check that both paths are written exactly as they are, without additional white spaces
note that "programmi" is a path usually used only on Italian versions of windows.


as work around, you can put for both a simple existing path, like "c:\" and then the installation should go correctly, but when it finish you have to manually update the "common_oil.pref" file and set the correct path for both C30 and ASM30.


regards,
Nicola

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:25 pm

Thank You very much Nicola.

I changed 'Programmi' to 'Program Files' and the installation is going on fine.
That was a really dumb mistake :)

Thanks again

Regards

Vivek

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:45 pm

Hi,

Its back to square one. I am getting the same error about failed dll link but for a different file - 'RollerGUI.dll'. Also there was no folder for Amazing Ball setup in the new Scicos pack i.e Scicos pack 10. So i copied the folder - 'FlexPIDTuning' from the CD, which has the dll file for Amazing ball and deleted the folder for Roller. Then it says that folder for roller is missing. I am attaching the screenshot.

Please help
Attachments
error3.jpg
error3.jpg (124.57 KiB) Viewed 5117 times

erikadds
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 9:41 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by erikadds » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:11 pm

Hi Vivek,
please do not change the Scicos pack files, you may have errors are difficult to resolve ... errors related to dlls should disappear if you install Microsoft visual studio 2008 express edition (after the installation restart your PC).

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:10 am

THANK YOU erikadds, it is working finally. :)

I tried the first example from the wikipage(http://erika.tuxfamily.org/wiki/index.p ... os_diagram) i.e. led_sin.cos, but i cant find the .elf file as mentioned in step 7 under Generating dsPIC code from a Scicos diagram

Please Help

erikadds
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 9:41 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by erikadds » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:25 pm

Hi,
errors have been detected during compilation? When the code generator is started, it opens a black window that displays the result of the operation ...

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:32 am

Hi

No errors have been detected erikadds. I get a message that compilation is successful and a .cof file is generated (pic.cof).
I do not know how to burn this to the chip. Do i need ICD3 or is it possible to burn using the ethernet connection on the flex board?

Pleas Help

Regards

Vivek

paolo.gai
Administrator
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by paolo.gai » Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:04 am

Hi!

You need an ICD2, ICD3, Realice, or similar...

PJ

vwake360
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:24 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by vwake360 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:12 pm

Hi,
Thanks Paolo.gai

Got ICD3 and everything was working fine until today. But, suddenly i am not able to get any data from the board.
I had opened the 'PCside_AmazingBall_UDP_Monitor.cos' file. I selected run from the simulate dropdown menu as always and then ScicosLab became unresponsive.
I had to go to the task manager and close it. After that whenever i run this program all the values remain at zero.

Please help

Regards

Vivek

PS.
I checked the lan cables and lan port abd they are working fine.
I also changed the top board, but nothing happened.
The lights at the port on the board are not blinking.

erikadds
Newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 9:41 am

Re: Amazing ball - Scicos Flex Code generator

Post by erikadds » Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:01 am

Hi Vivek,
perhaps the LAN port of the PC is in an inconsistent state.
Try to disable and then re-enable the port.

Dario

Locked