scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

A forum useful to discuss the details of the ScicosLab code generator.

Moderator: paolo.gai

Locked
mobytango1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:50 am

scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by mobytango1 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:14 am

hi

i find on our site the demo of SMCUBE . I want to try it and install all necessaries programs.
And i have 1 (or may be 2) problem.

I test want to test it on a XP operating system and SMCUBE tell me that i have an initialisation problem.
Tested with scicosLab 4 4 1 and scicos pack 11 1 with SMCUBE.
when i open an example, and when i throw all the boxes for SMCUBE, the simulation is OK. I access the simulator with the LCD, Leds and buttons and all is running.
But with SMCUBE, the simulator is launch but nothing is done.

I try it on an 7 operating system and all is OK.

But i want to use on an XP system.

I try to read about the problem but i don't finf anything.

Thanks for answer.

fred

mobytango1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:50 am

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by mobytango1 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:18 am

Sorry the second problem, may be the 2's are linked :

when i install scicos lab, i have to modify the scilab.star on line 243 ant comment a line like that :
// Configure Environment Variables for Ms Visual C ====================
if MSDOS then
//configure_msvc()
clear configure_msvc setmsvc71 setmsvc70 setmsvc60 setmsvc50
clear setmsvc80std setmsvc80pro setmsvc80express
end

and after i can load the environnement. Else i had an error.

Thanks.

fred

mobytango1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:50 am

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by mobytango1 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:38 am

It's not really my day.
And now with the complete information message :
Initialisation problem.
The hilited block returns the error :
Channel wait for connection failed : 536.

Thanks a lot.

fred

paolo.gai
Administrator
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by paolo.gai » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:53 am

The free version of SMCube has a timeout that is used to stop the simulation if for some reason the system is not able to initialize SMCube. The initialization also includes the compilation of the diagram. Everything typically ends up in less than one second, If I'm not wrong the timeout is a few seconds.

It may be that the system you are trying with is too slow in compiling the design, throwing the exception. Try using a faster macine... (in fact the windows 7 machine works fine).

Regards,

Paolo

mobytango1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:50 am

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by mobytango1 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:24 am

Hi Paolo

Thanks for your fast answer.

The proc runs on my system at 1.7 GHz. Not very fast but not so slow.

Do you have any idea on how to let more time for the init?
On how to modify the timeout on install?

Regards.

fred

paolo.gai
Administrator
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by paolo.gai » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:32 am

1.7 GHz is not slow. I must be something that is slowing down the machine when doing the compilation. Sometimes at the second run, when the system cached most of the content, the system is able to meet the timeout.

On the commercial version of SMCube this has been already raised, but not on the free version (it's a while we do not release a new version). Please use the faster machine for now.

Ciao,

PJ

mobytango1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:50 am

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by mobytango1 » Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:52 pm

Hi Poalo

I try with faster PC and for the moment it's OK.
I have another question. I have a flex full board and the demo board with the LCD and the push buttons.
I programm the PIC18F on the full board to act as a USB rs232 converter and i programm the dspic256 with a bootloader ds30. All the chain is working perfectly and i can program the dspic with .Hex files. But when SCILAB compile the program, i obtain a cof file which is different than the hex file.
And now the question : is it possible to modify some conf file for the compiler give me hex file? I try to find on the forum, but it was difficul for asking.

Best regards.

fred

paolo.gai
Administrator
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 12:11 pm

Re: scicos pack 11 1 SMCUBE : Problem initialisation

Post by paolo.gai » Fri Jun 13, 2014 11:45 am

Hi fred!

The file is the following:

ee/pkg/cfg/arch/rules_microchip_pic30.mk

I suggest the following:

- look at the TARGET variable and at the objdump makefile target
- somewhere there add the hex file generation.

Moreover, if you shared openly the bootloader/pic18 code somewhere we will be happy to put a link in the wiki...

Ciao,

PJ

Locked